International considerations

International considerations in matters concerning long-term care insurance

Anyone who is covered by Luxembourg sickness insurance is also covered long-term care insurance. Remember that a person is considered dependent if they have a significant and regular need for assistance by another person to perform activities of daily living. The activities of daily living in question include bodily hygiene, elimination, nutrition, dressing and mobility. There must be a need for at least 3.5 hours of care a week in the areas mentioned above, and the state of dependency must be ongoing for at least 6 months or be irreversible.

Your rights

To apply for long-term care insurance benefits, an application form, along with an R20 medical report produced by your primary care physician, must be submitted. The form and medical report should be sent to the National Health Fund (Caisse nationale de santé).

Benefits in general

Benefits in kind

Benefits in kind are payable for care and assistance provided through a care and assistance network at the dependent person's home or in an inpatient setting in a care and assistance establishment (integrated centre, nursing home).

Cash benefits

Dependent persons receiving care and assistance at home may receive cash benefits in place of benefits in kind if they are assisted by a qualified caregiver. The maximum cash-benefit allocation is EUR 262.50 a week. The caregiver's pension contributions may be covered by the long-term care insurance provider if they are not covered by a personal pension scheme and provided the caregiver is registered with the Joint Social Security Centre (Centre commun de la sécurité sociale – CCSS).

Benefits at international level

Insured persons should bear in mind that:

  • Only one country may provide their social security coverage (generally the country where they work and pay social security contributions).
  • Only one country can be classed as the country of residence.
  • These two countries may or may not be the same (see examples below).

Cash benefits are payable by the country that provides your social security coverage, and can be "exported" to another country in the European Union.

Benefits in kind are delivered by your country of residence based on the rules in force in that country.

Where long-term care insurance is concerned:

  • Care and assistance for activities of daily living, delivered at home through a network of healthcare professionals, are benefits in kind.
  • Care and assistance for activities of daily living, delivered in a care and assistance establishment – integrated centre for the elderly, retirement home, nursing home – through a network of healthcare professionals, are benefits in kind.

If you receive home care and/or assistance from a caregiver, your benefits in kind can be replaced by a cash benefit. In concrete terms, you will receive a certain sum of money to pay your caregiver.

The assistive technology/products and home/car adaptations referred to in the 'Amended Grand-Ducal regulation of 22 December 2006 establishing 1. the conditions and limits of long-term care insurance coverage for assistive technology; 2. the conditions and limits of long-term care insurance coverage for home adaptations; 3. the products required for the care and assistance' are benefits in kind.

If you are insured in Luxembourg and reside in another European Union Member State

  • This is the case for cross-border workers who work in Luxembourg and live in another country in the European Union.
  • This is the case of Luxembourg-insured retirees who go into a care and assistance establishment in another country in the European Union.

 

Who is responsible for:

Luxembourg

Country of residence

Benefits in kind Activities of daily living

No

Yes

Cash benefits Activities of daily living

Yes

No

Assistive technology/Home adaptations/Car adaptations

No

Yes

Lump-sum allowance for incontinence products

No

Yes

 

  • In concrete terms, a cross-border worker who works in Luxembourg and lives in another country can receive a cash benefit from Luxembourg if care and assistance is provided by a caregiver at their home.
  • In concrete terms, a Luxembourg-insured retiree who goes into a care and assistance establishment in another country in the European Union must contact the authorities in their place of residence abroad for coverage of their benefits in kind.

If you pay your contributions in Luxembourg and reside abroad

  • In principle, your dependency status will be evaluated by the competent authorities in your country of residence.

If you are insured in another country in the European Union and reside in Luxembourg

  • this is the case of persons who have never paid social security contributions in Luxembourg, and who are covered by the social security system in another country in the European Union, and who come to live in Luxembourg

 

Who is responsible for:

Luxembourg

Country where you are insured

Benefits in kind Activities of daily living

Yes

No

Cash benefits Activities of daily living

No

Yes

Assistive technology/Home adaptations/Car adaptations

Yes

No

 

Lump-sum allowance for incontinence products

 

Yes

No

In concrete terms, a person who is insured in another country in the European Union, and lives in Luxembourg, can receive benefits in kind from Luxembourg if they receive care and/or assistance at home through a care and assistance network, or if the care and/or assistance is provided in a care and assistance establishment.

Last update

Internationale Zuständigkeit

Internationale Zuständigkeit der Pflegeversicherung

Alle bei der luxemburgischen Krankenversicherung versicherten Personen haben ebenfalls Anspruch auf die Pflegeversicherung. Zur Erinnerung: Eine Person gilt als pflegebedürftig, wenn sie regelmäßig und erhebliche fremde Hilfe bei den Aktivitäten des täglichen Lebens benötigt. Diese Aktivitäten des täglichen Lebens betreffen die Bereiche Körperhygiene, Toilettengang, Ernährung, An-/Auskleiden und Mobilität. Der Hilfebedarf muss mindestens 3,5 Stunden Pflege pro Woche in den genannten Bereichen ausmachen und die Pflegebedürftigkeit muss mindestens 6 Monate andauern oder irreversibel sein.

Ihre Rechte

Um Leistungen bei der Pflegeversicherung zu beantragen, muss ein Antragsformular ausgefüllt und diesem ein ärztliches Gutachten des behandelnden Arztes (R20) beigefügt werden. Das Formular und das Gutachten sind an die Nationale Gesundheitskasse zu senden.

Leistungen im Allgemeinen

Sachleistungen

Die Sachleistungen werden für die von einem professionellen Netzwerk im häuslichen Umfeld der pflegebedürftigen Person und im Falle eines Aufenthalts in einer Hilfe- und Pflegeeinrichtung (Senioren- oder Pflegeheime) erbrachten Hilfeleistungen geschuldet.

Geldleistungen

Einer pflegebedürftigen Person, die in ihrem häuslichen Umfeld gepflegt wird, können Geldleistungen als Ersatz für die Sachleistungen gezahlt werden, wobei dies an die Anwesenheit einer Pflegeperson für die Erbringung der Pflegeleistungen gebunden ist. Der Höchstbetrag der Geldleistungen liegt bei 262,50 € pro Woche. Die Pflegeperson kann in den Genuss einer Übernahme der Rentenversicherungsbeiträge gelangen, wenn sie keine persönliche Rente bezieht, und der entsprechende Beitrag wird von der Pflegeversicherung gezahlt, sofern die Pflegeperson bei der Zentralstelle der Sozialversicherungen (Centre commun de la sécurité sociale - CCSS) gemeldet ist.

Leistungen im internationalen Rahmen

Es sei daran erinnert, dass:

  • Sie immer nur in einem Land sozialversichert sind (in der Regel das Land, in dem sie arbeiten und Ihre Sozialversicherungsbeiträge zahlen).
  • Sie immer nur ein Wohnsitzland haben
  • In einigen Fällen handelt es sich dabei um das gleiche Land, in anderen nicht (siehe Beispiele unten).

Die Geldleistungen werden in dem Land geschuldet, in dem Sie sozialversichert sind, und können in ein anderes Land der EU exportiert werden.

Die Sachleistungen sind von Ihrem Wohnsitzland gemäß den dortigen Vorschriften zu erbringen.

Betreffend die Pflegeversicherung:

  • handelt es sich bei den von einem Netzwerk von Gesundheitsdienstleistern zu Hause erbrachten Hilfe- und Pflegeleistungen bei den Aktivitäten des täglichen Lebens um Sachleistungen.
  • handelt es sich bei den von Gesundheitsfachkräften in einer Hilfe- und Pflegeeinrichtung (Senioren- oder Pflegeheim) erbrachten Hilfe- und Pflegeleistungen bei den Aktivitäten des täglichen Lebens um Sachleistungen.

Werden Sie von einer Pflegeperson in Ihrem häuslichen Umfeld gepflegt, können Sie Ihre Sachleistung durch eine Geldleistung ersetzen. In diesem Fall erhalten Sie einen gewissen Geldbetrag, um Ihre Pflegeperson zu vergüten.

Bei den technischen Hilfsmitteln, Wohnraum- und Fahrzeuganpassungen, von denen in der geänderten großherzoglichen Verordnung vom 22. Dezember 2006 zur Festlegung 1. der Modalitäten und Grenzen der Übernahme der technischen Hilfsmittel durch die Pflegeversicherung; 2. der Modalitäten und Grenzen der Übernahme der Wohnraumanpassungen durch die Pflegeversicherung; 3. der für die Hilfe- und Pflegeleistungen benötigten Produkte (Règlement grand-ducal modifié du 22 décembre 2006 déterminant 1. les modalités et les limites de la prise en charge des aides techniques par  l’assurance dépendance; 2. les modalités et les limites de la prise en charge des adaptations du logement par l’assurance dépendance; 3. les produits nécessaires aux aides et soins) handelt es sich um Sachleistungen.

Sie sind in Luxemburg versichert und leben in einem anderen Land der Europäischen Union

  • Dies ist bei Grenzgängern der Fall, die in Luxemburg arbeiten und in einem anderen Land der EU leben.
  • Dies ist bei luxemburgischen Rentenempfängern der Fall, die sich für die Aufnahme in einer Hilfe- und Pflegeeinrichtung in einem anderen Land der EU entscheiden.

 

Wer ist zuständig für:

Luxemburg

Wohnsitzland

Sachleistungen - Aktivitäten des täglichen Lebens

Nein

Ja

Geldleistungen - Aktivitäten des täglichen Lebens

Ja

Nein

Technische Hilfsmittel/Wohnraumanpassungen/Fahrzeuganpassungen

Nein

Ja

Pauschale für Inkontinenzmaterial

Nein

Ja

 

  • Das heißt konkret, dass ein Grenzgänger, der in Luxemburg arbeitet und in einem anderen Land lebt, von Luxemburg eine Geldleistung bekommen kann, wenn er von einer Pflegeperson in seinem häuslichen Umfeld gepflegt wird.
  • Das heißt konkret, dass sich ein Rentner, der in Luxemburg sozialversichert war und sich für eine Aufnahme in einer Hilfe- und Pflegeeinrichtung in einem anderen Land der Europäischen Union entscheidet, für die Übernahme der Sachleistungen an die Behörden an seinem Wohnsitzort im Ausland wenden muss.

Sie zahlen Beiträge in Luxemburg und leben im Ausland

  • Ihre Pflegebedürftigkeit wird in der Regel von den zuständigen Behörden Ihres Wohnsitzlandes bewertet.

Sie sind in einem anderen Land der Europäischen Union versichert und leben in Luxemburg

  • Dies ist der Fall bei Personen, die nie in Luxemburg Beiträge gezahlt haben, in einem anderen Land der Europäischen Union sozialversichert sind und nach Luxemburg umziehen

 

Wer ist zuständig für:

Luxemburg

Land, in dem Sie versichert sind

Sachleistungen - Aktivitäten des täglichen Lebens

Ja

Nein

Geldleistungen - Aktivitäten des täglichen Lebens

Nein

Ja

Technische Hilfsmittel/Wohnraumanpassungen/Fahrzeuganpassungen

Ja

Nein

 

Pauschale für Inkontinenzmaterial

 

Ja

Nein

Das heißt konkret, dass eine Person, die in einem anderen EU-Mitgliedstaat sozialversichert ist und in Luxemburg wohnen, von Luxemburg Sachleistungen erhalten kann, wenn sie von einem Hilfe- und Pflegenetzwerk im häuslichen Umfeld oder in einer Pflegeeinrichtung gepflegt wird.

 

Zum letzten Mal aktualisiert am